Choosing Today

This is the day that the Lord has made, let us rejoice and be glad in it!

Cinco de Mayo

on May 5, 2012

¡HOLA!

I love a reason to make the most of each day and this has been quite the week to celebrate!

May Day, National Day of Prayer, and now… Cinco de Mayo!

What is Cinco de Mayo?

Cinco de Mayo stands for the 5th of May in Spanish.

It’s the day that Mexico celebrates it’s victory over France at the Battle of Puebla back in 1862.

I wish I was in Mexico to celebrate because boy, do they know how to party!

Several years ago, I did have the privilege of living in Mexico during their Independence Day in September. The night was full of live music, dancing, authentic Mexican food and amazing friends! What a celebration! I’ll never forget it.

Since I can’t be there today in person, I decided to recreate a FIESTA for my family here at home.

First, we turned on our favorite Mexican album and rocked out.

Then, we made Baleros

In English, Balero literally stands for “cup and ball.”

It is a traditional children’s toy consisting of a wooden cup and a ball attached by a string.

The main goal of the game is to get the ball into the cup.

Easier said than done.

I mastered it pretty quickly but it was a bit challenging for my trio.

It takes more skill and coordination than you think. Try it!

Next, we made Sombreros

In English, Sombrero refers to a certain type of wide-brimmed hat originally from Mexico. In Spanish, however, it’s the generic word for “hat.”

We had fun crafting these sombreros using a paper plate, a cup, and pom poms.

We also colored some Mexican flags and maps that I found here.

Perfect decoration for our Mexican FIESTA!

I didn’t take any photos, but we enjoyed an authentic Mexican meal consisting of Tostadas, Salsas, Aguas frescas, fresh fruit and galletas (cookies) for dessert! ¡Que Delicioso!

Made me miss living in Mexico…

I love the culture and the language. I love how hospitable and relational the people of Mexico are.

I know I will be back again someday. But for now,

¡Feliz Cinco de Mayo Amigos! ¡Dios te bendiga!

Happy Cinco de Mayo friends! God bless you!

Victory comes from you, O Lord. May you bless your people.” – Psalm 3:8

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

