Choosing Today

This is the day that the Lord has made, let us rejoice and be glad in it!

E.A.S.T.E.R.

on March 25, 2012

First, I have to say that this is not your typical acronym…

I had found these cute wooden eggs in the dollar bins at Target:

They’re a cute little decoration, sure, but I was trying to figure out how to use them to teach my trio about the real story of Easter.

I stared at them off and on throughout the day and finally that night, as I was going to bed, these words started popping into my mind.

Jesus. Palms. Cross. Tomb. Alive. Forgiven.

At first, I wasn’t sure how these words fit in with the word EASTER. But I soon realized that they were in order of sequence for the Easter Story and that I could use them as a timeline as I teach my kiddos.

So this is what I came up with:

  1. ┬ájEsus – Easter is all about Jesus!
  2. pAlms – The Branches laid at Jesus’ feet when He entered Jerusalem.
  3. croSs – The tree on which Jesus was nailed.
  4. Tomb – The cave in which Jesus was buried.
  5. alivE – Jesus rose from the grave, He’s alive!
  6. foRgiven – Because of Jesus’ blood, we are free!

So, like I said, not your typical acronym but I will be using these words to share the message of the cross this week to my trio.

We’ll learn one word each day. I have some lessons in mind, but we’ll see where He leads us!

My only goal is that we discover just how much God loves us… so much that He would send His only Son, Jesus, to die on the cross for our sins so that we may live with Him forever.

What a powerful example of love.

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” – John 3:16

2 responses to “E.A.S.T.E.R.

  1. Jeanene says:

    So cool! And I love your joy and your passion for Jesus and for teaching your trio :). Keep it coming! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

