Choosing Today

This is the day that the Lord has made, let us rejoice and be glad in it!

The 10 Commandments: #1

on February 18, 2012

You must not have any other god but me.” – Exodus 20:3

To remember this commandment, I taught the kids to hold out their index finger and say “ONE”. Then to do the sign for God and say “GOD.”

After they got those two motions down, I asked them, “Who is God?”

They thought about it for a while, then we pulled out our Bibles and found verses about Who God is.

  • He is Creator – Isaiah 40:28
  • He is Great & Awesome – Deuteronomy 7:21
  • He Knows everything – 1 John 3:20
  • He Sees everything – Genesis 16:13
  • He is Worthy of our Praise – Psalm 48:1
  • He is Powerful – Joshua 4:24
  • He is With Us – Isaiah 8:10
  • He is Love – 1 John 4:8
  • He is Protector – Proverbs 2:8
  • He richly Provides – 1 Timothy 6:17

I printed these qualities out and told them to draw God inside the words. The instructions were simple: Be creative and use your imagination. (Free Printable at the bottom of this post!)

I was amazed at both drawings!

Even though this looks like a scribble, E really took his time on this. He kept saying “I really don’t know how to draw God, He’s too big for me to draw.”

In the end, I feel like he represented God as a indescribable, divine being that our human mind’s cannot even imagine. Cool perspective, huh?

Here is K’s:

K’s drawing surprised me.

First, she drew two stick figures and a 3rd circle on the right. She said the two figures were God and Jesus. When I asked what the circle on the right was, she said she didn’t know. I asked if it was the Holy Spirit, and she said, “YES!”

Wow, she is three and she just drew the Trinity.

But she wasn’t done:

When I saw her adding all those scribbles, I thought to myself, “I’m glad I got a photo because now she is going to ruin it.” But I was wrong.

Looking at her finished masterpiece, I realized all those colors represented God’s glory surrounding Him in heaven. How cool is that!

What I thought would be a simple coloring activity turned into a sweet learning experience even for me. Just like the song by MercyMe says, “I can only imagine, what my eyes will see, when Your Face is before me! … Surrounded by Your Glory, what will my heart feel… I can only imagine!

Click this link for your FREE PRINTABLE: God is and let your kiddos express their creative images of God! There are no wrong answers! Be sure to look up the verses describing God and read them aloud as they color.

Remember: “There is no god besides me.” – Deuteronomy 32:39

There is only ONE God! He is indescribable!

Join us tomorrow for Commandment #2!

One response to “The 10 Commandments: #1

  1. Jeanene says:

    Here’s the scripture that came to mind, not just today, but in 2010. I sent a note to you way back when…God impressed it upon me as to how to pray for E, then k, and now, also, H…Luke 11:21 and vs. 23-24. Then I was led to 2 Kings 6:15-17.

    You are not only helping your children, you are also helping me to re-discover the truths of the Lord and His word thru the eyes of a child :).

    Keep it comin’! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

